Our vision and mission

Varta Trust promotes dialogue and understanding on gender and sexuality as issues intimate and integral to human development in India. We believe that dialogue is essential to tackling social stigma and silence around sexual issues, ensuring gender equity, and stopping discrimination around diverse forms of gender and sexuality.

We look at gender and sexuality through the prism of intersections with age, class, caste, religion, race, marital status, geographical location, sexual and reproductive health, HIV, disability, mental health, education, livelihood, social security, environment and human rights.

Varta Trust aims to publish multi-format and multi-lingual publications for mass audiences as platforms for dialogue on gender and sexuality. The Varta webzine (included in this website) is the first of these publications. Our publishing work is complemented by activities around awareness generation through public events, referrals to services, training, social research, and legal, policy and media advocacy on gender and sexuality.


Organizational details

Currently, a group of 24 people from the fields of journalism, social work, social and biomedical research, human rights and law, health, academics, art, information technology, engineering, business, financial management and queer community mobilization forms the larger Varta team. As a registered trust, Varta is lead by a three-member Board of Trustees consisting of Pawan Dhall (Founding Trustee), Kaushik Gupta and Madhuja Nandi.

The first meeting of Varta was held on June 3, 2012 in Kolkata, and the Varta webzine started on August 1, 2013. Varta was registered as a trust on May 14, 2014 with the ADSR Sealdah, District South 24 Parganas, West Bengal, with number IV – 00322 of 2014. We are also registered with the Income Tax Department with numbers CIT (Exemption), Kolkata/12AA/2017-18/A/10033 and CIT (Exemption), Kolkata/80G/2018-19/A/10081.

The larger Varta team includes: Anupam Hazra, Bappa Panja, Debayan Sen, Debjyoti Ghosh, Diksha Sanyal, Kaushik Gupta, Madhuja Nandi, Md. Gulrez, Mith Mukherjee, Namrata Mukherjee, Owais Khan, Pawan Dhall, Pradosh Dash, Prosenjit Pal, Rudra Kishore Mandal, Santanu Pyne, Sayan Bhattacharya, Srabasti Majumdar, Sudeb Sadhu, Sudha Jha, Sudipa Chakraborty, Sukhdeep Singh, Vahista Dastoor and Yashita Kandhari.

Email: vartablog@gmail.com

Website (and webzine): www.vartagensex.org. For Varta webzine issues up to July 2016, please visit: www.varta2013.blogspot.in

Facebook page: www.facebook.com/vartapublications

Twitter handle: @vartatrust

YouTube channel: Click here.

Telegram channel: t.me/vartatrust

Our work

Read about our work through the years as documented in our annual reports. Click here for the latest annual report (financial year 2019-20). For a copy of this or earlier annual reports, please write to us at vartablog@gmail.com.



Varta Trust acknowledges the support provided by all its well wishers (individuals and organizations), whether moral, in terms of ideas, or in the form of resources – you know who you are.

Website editor: Pawan Dhall

Varta Trust logo credit: Rudra Kishore Mandal

Artwork credit for hero images in page heads: Anupam Hazra

Skip to content